Dark Mode
Tuesday, 16 July 2024

Welcome to the National Council of Bhutan's website. We're currently in the process of updating our site, so you might encounter some information that's not yet complete. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Composition and Functions


The National Council has 25 members, 20 directly elected by the people of the 20 dzongkhags (districts), and five nominated by the Druk Gyalpo. The Council is an apolitical body with a five-year term from the date of the first sitting. It is a continuous house and elections are held so that the house is re-constituted on the date its term expires.
The National Council was established in 2008 under article 11 of the Constitution of Bhutan. The first joint sitting of Parliament was held from May 8-30, 2008, and the first session of the National Council was held in the Banquet Hall at Langjophakha from June 17 to July 24, 2008.


The National Council has legislative and review functions and is referred to as the House of Review.
As a law-making body, the National Council initiates and proposes laws except in the case of money and financial bills. It also reviews and amends existing laws, and can pass, amend or reject any legislation passed by the National Assembly.
As a house of review the National Council reviews and comments on the policies, plans and programmes of the government, reviews government performance, reviews how laws passed by Parliament are being implemented and reviews issues of national importance.