Dark Mode
Tuesday, 16 July 2024

Welcome to the National Council of Bhutan's website. We're currently in the process of updating our site, so you might encounter some information that's not yet complete. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.


The National Council is assisted by a Secretariat in the discharge of its parliamentary duties. It is headed by a Secretary General who is appointed by the Druk Gyalpo on the recommendation of the Royal Civil Service Commission. The secretary general is responsible for managing the affairs of the National Council and administration of the Secretariat.

The Secretariat is divided into four divisions: Secretariat Services Division (SSD), Information & Communication Division, Legislative and Procedural Division and Hansard and Research Division.

The secretariat provides advice to the Chairperson and members on the operation of the National Council, interpretation of standing orders, parliamentary practices and precedents; provides administrative, financial and research services to the House; Draft/Review Bills, Acts, Rules and other legislations; Prepares and safeguard records of decisions & proceedings (verbatim) of the House; Plan, develop and maintain physical infrastructure.