Dark Mode
Tuesday, 25 June 2024

Welcome to the National Council of Bhutan's website. We're currently in the process of updating our site, so you might encounter some information that's not yet complete. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

The National Council of Bhutan consists of several key divisions that carry out the core functions and operations of the legislature.

At the top is the Secretary General, who oversees all activities and divisions within the National Council. The Secretary General provides high-level leadership and strategic direction for the organization.

Reporting to the Secretary General are four main divisions:

  • Secretariat Services Division: This division provides administrative and operational support to the National Assembly. Responsibilities include managing facilities, human resources, finances, and IT services.
  • Information and Communication Division: This division is responsible for public relations, media management, and communicating the activities of the National Council to the general public. They disseminate information through press releases, websites, social media, and other channels.
  • Legislative and Procedural Division: As the core legislative branch, this division manages the lawmaking process from start to finish. They provide research and analysis on legislative issues, manage the calendar and scheduling of legislative sessions, and oversee voting, debates, and procedures.
  • Hansard and Research Division: This division produces official transcripts and records of legislative proceedings. They also conduct policy research and analysis to inform lawmakers during legislative deliberations.

Together, these divisions and leaders work cohesively to carry out the essential democratic functions of the National Council in service to the people of Bhutan. The organizational structure facilitates efficient governance and lawmaking for the nation.